Happy Father’s Day

This Sunday, Father’s Day, is an important day in the lives of many. Everyone, like it or not, has a father. Some may have fond memories of their fathers, some may not. Some memories are distant and some are of step, foster or even grandfather father figures.

My biological father was killed in a motorcycle accident when I was a year old, and although I have no memory of him, I have stories of him throughout the years. My mother later married my stepfather and it is my stepfather whom we both call Dad.

Now I would love to say my step-dad was simply the most perfect man I have ever known, and that he was the perfect dad. I would like to say that, but the truth is my step-dad was far from perfect.

Despite his mistakes, there was never a doubt of how much he cared for my older brother and me, and when my two younger siblings came along, never once did he treat us as second-class children.

Perfect or not, my dad showed me I was his son, and as a son I am reminded of his love. As a pastor and believer in Jesus Christ, I am reminded of God the Father’s love as well. The difference is, God’s love is perfect.

He took a horrible and wretched sinner like myself and adopted me into his family. He washed my filthy sin in baptism, He clothed me in His righteousness and He forgives me when I, like a teenager, yell, back talk and defy Him. At times, He scolds me like a parent. No matter what past I may have had, he sees me as 100 per cent His.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad.

Pastor Steven Naylor

Published in Delta Optomist

Comments are closed.